12. Feb, 2018


The Two Commandments of Love:

1. You shall love the Lord Your God with all Your heart,

with all Your soul, and with all Your mind.

2. You shall love Your neighbour as Yourself. (Matthew 22:34ff; CCC 2051-2055)

The Golden Rule:

Do to others as You would have them do to You. (Matthew 7:12; CCC 1970, 2407)

Ten Commandments

1. I, the LORD, am Your God: You shall not have strange gods before me.

2. You shall not take the name of the LORD Your God in vain.

3. Remember to keep holy the LORD’s Day.

4. Honour Your father and Your mother.

5. You shall not kill.

6. You shall not commit adultery.

7. You shall not steal.

8. You shall not bear false witness against Your neighbour.

9. You shall not covet Your neighbour’s wife.

10. You shall not covet Your neighbour’s goods.

(cf. Exodus 20:2-17, Deuteronomy 5:6-21; CCC 2056ff.)

Eight Beatitudes

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit: the reign of God is theirs.

2. Blessed are the sorrowing: they shall be consoled.

3. Blessed are the lowly: they shall inherit the land.

4. Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for holiness: they shall have their fill.

5. Blessed are they who show mercy: mercy shall be theirs.

6. Blessed are the single-hearted: they shall see God.

7. Blessed are the peacemakers: they shall be called the sons of God.

8. Blessed are those persecuted for holiness’ sake: the reign of God is theirs.

(cf. Matthew 5:1-12; Luke 6:20-23; CCC 1716-1724)

Corporal Works of Mercy

1. To feed the hungry.

2. To give drink to the thirsty.

3. To clothe the naked.

4. To visit the imprisoned.

5. To shelter the homeless.

6. To visit the sick.

7. To bury the dead. (CCC 2447)

Spiritual Works of Mercy

1. To admonish the sinner.

2. To instruct the ignorant.

3. To counsel the doubtful.

4. To comfort the sorrowful.

5. To bear wrongs patiently.

6. To forgive all injuries.

7. To pray for the living and the dead. (CCC 2447)

Precepts of the Church

1. To keep holy the Lord’s Day by attending Mass on Sundays and holy days of obligation and to rest from servile labour.

2. To confess your sins in the sacrament of Confession at least once a year during the Easter season.

3. To receive holy Communion at least once a year during the Easter season.

4. To observe the days of fast and abstinence according to the norms of the Church.

5. To observe the marriage laws of the Church.

6. To contribute to the needs of the Church. (CCC 2041-2043)

The Three Theological Virtues:

1. Faith

2. Hope

3. Charity (1 Corinthians 13:13; CCC 2086-2094)

The Four Cardinal Virtues:

1. Prudence

2. Justice

3. Fortitude

4. Temperance (CCC 1805-1809)

The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit:

1. Wisdom

2. Understanding

3. Counsel

4. Fortitude

5. Knowledge

6. Piety

7. Fear of the Lord (Isaiah 11:1-3; CCC 1829-1832)

The Twelve Fruits of the Holy Spirit:

1. Charity

2. Joy

3. Peace

4. Patience

5. Kindness

6. Goodness

7. Generosity

8. Gentleness

9. Faithfulness

10. Modesty

11. Self-control

12. Chastity (Galatians 5:22-23; CCC 1829-1832)

The Seven Capital Sins:

1. Pride

2. Covetousness

3. Lust

4. Anger

5. Gluttony

6. Envy

7. Sloth (CCC 1866)

The Four Last Things:

1. Death

2. Judgment

3. Hell

4. Heaven (CCC 1020-1041)

Prescriptions for the Eucharistic Fast

From the Code of Canon Law, canon 919:

1. Whoever is to receive the blessed Eucharist is to abstain for at least one hour before holy communion from all food and drink, with the sole exception of water and medicine.

2. A priest who, on the same day, celebrates the blessed Eucharist twice or three times may consume something before the second or third celebration, even though there is not an hour’s interval.

3. The elderly and those who are suffering from some illness, as well as those who care for them, may receive the blessed Eucharist even if they have consumed something.

Fast and Abstinence

On Ash Wednesday and Good Friday Catholics are obliged to fast and abstain (see below the Code of Canon Law, canons1250-1253). We are to turn away from sin and believe in the Gospel. Abstinence means that no meat is eaten on those days for those who are age 14 and above. To fast means eating one main meal and eating a smaller amount of food at other the times of the day. When fasting, snacking is not permitted. As a way of keeping the memory of the death of the Lord on Good Friday alive in our spiritual life, Fridays in Lent are days of abstinence; the Church also teaches that all Fridays are days of penance, and abstinence is the preferred form of penance.

Meat is the flesh and organs of mammals and fowl.

The Code of Canon Law says the following on the observance of fast and abstinence:

Canon 1250 All Fridays through the year and the time of Lent are penitential days and times throughout the entire Church.

Canon 1251 Abstinence from eating meat or another food according to the prescriptions of the conference of bishops is to be observed on Fridays throughout the year unless they are solemnities; abstinence and fast are to be observed on Ash Wednesday and on the Friday of the Passion and Death of Our Lord Jesus Christ.

Canon 1252 All persons who have completed their fourteenth year are bound by the law of abstinence; all adults are bound by the law of fast up to the beginning of their sixtieth year. Nevertheless, pastors and parents are to see to it that minors who are not bound by the law of fast and abstinence are educated in an authentic sense of penance.

Canon 1253 It is for the conference of bishops to determine more precisely the observance of fast and abstinence and to substitute in whole or in part for fast and abstinence other forms of penance, especially works of charity and exercises of piety.